top of page
Search

Guide me, O Thou great Jehovah!

Early last year, I felt like my life had come to an intersection. I could turn right, turn left, or continue straight ahead. There was not a U-turn option! I didn’t know which path to choose. My intersection: What college should I attend? I needed the Lord to guide me in this all important decision. I began praying “Guide me, O Thou great Jehovah.” The great Jehovah guided me at my intersection. He answered my prayer because I know without a doubt that I was supposed to come study at East Texas Baptist University.


The beginning of this year brought me to a fork in the road. I had another major decision to make which took months of prayer. The question: Should I continue playing basketball or should I start to devote that time to something else? I labored over this decision, seeking wise counsel from trusted adults, and praying extensively over it. I felt as though my path was dark. Again I did not know which way to turn. I wasn’t even sure if the Lord cared about what decision I should make. But I claimed the verse, “The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord, and He delights in his way” (Psalm 37:23). And I prayed, “Guide me O Thou great Jehovah.” His powerful hand guided me through the decision of staying in basketball or not. I have peace about the decision I made.


Currently, I feel as if I am flying down the highway going 90 mph. Suddenly, there’s an exit. Should I take this exit? Is this supposed to be my off-ramp? Where will it take me? What happens if I decide to continue past the exit? I do not know what to do. I cannot turn around. Is my GPS working? Does Siri know? I mean she is smart but doesn’t know everything. I have this option: Should I transfer to the college closer to home or am I placed at this present college for a reason therefore need to stay here? What does God want from me right now and where can I achieve His best for His glory? I do not have the answers to these questions. I do not know if I should exit here by transferring colleges or continue the course. But God does. He knows my future and He is ordering my steps. So I am asking “Guide me O Thou great Jehovah.”


This constant prayer of mine comes from the hymn “Guide me O Thou Great Jehovah” written in 1745 by William Williams. It reads:

Guide me, O Thou great Jehovah, pilgrim through this barren land; I am weak, but you are mighty; hold me with your powerful hand. Bread of heaven, feed me now and evermore.

Open now the crystal fountain, where the healing waters flow. Let the fire and cloudy pillar lead me all my journey through. Strong Deliverer, ever be my strength and shield.

When I tread the verge of Jordan, bid my anxious fears subside. Death of death, and hell's Destruction, land me safe on Canaan's side. Songs of praises, I will ever sing to you.

This hymn has encouraged my spirit numerous times as it references the Israelites wandering in the desert for forty years. What discouragement they must have encountered! What questions they must have wanted answers to immediately! Yet, the same God that guided them through the forty dreary years in the wilderness with fire and a cloudy pillar is the same God that guides me. Like the Israelites, I am but a weak, hungry pilgrim wandering through my own wilderness of life. Yet, He is the same God that holds me with His powerful right hand. I need Him to be my fire and cloudy pillar, leading me all my journey through.


I have seen Him work in my life this past year that has made me fall on my knees in wonder and thankfulness. I have met people that have left an impact on my life here at East Texas Baptist University. Basketball served a purpose, and I learned many lessons on and off the court. I have been inspired, encouraged, and challenged.


The fire and cloudy pillar will lead me through this change of direction of transferring or not. As I seek His face, bring Him my questions, commit my way to Him and trust in Him (Psalms 37:5), He will make my paths straight (Proverbs 3:6). He is ordering my steps. He is guiding this pilgrim through this barren land.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page